My seven minute strawberry cake

Back in the late 80s when my father bought a microwave we were one of the first in the family to own one. Naturally none of us knew how best to use it particularly since it came with a manual that had everything written in Chinese. And back then we didn’t have my sister in law Ping to translate it for us either (since she was probably a 7 yr old living somewhere in China without a clue that she would end up moving to India) Yeah so getting back to that microwave I would usually pour the batter in a Borosil dish and set the oven for Medium and set the timer for 30 minutes. Because that’s what the recipe said. And because I was 11 and had no idea that a microwave was different from a regular OTG. I’d pray and pray that please don’t let this cake turn to stone and while it cooked there was this pleasant aroma that tricked me into thinking that maybe this time I’ve done it right. Open the microwave after 30 minutes and nopes. Nothing doing. Let’s not get into the number of people whose fillings came out or whose dentures got loose while trying to eat my cakes.

NOW that I’m a grown up (have to admit that somewhere between having 2 kids and turning 35 I’m finally a grown up)…yeah now that I’m a grown up I know that it takes just 7 minutes to make a cake in the microwave.

In October I made this cake for my mom’s birthday ten minutes before the rest of the family turned up.

image

Ok it’s not like my mom celebrates her birthday or anything but my family just won’t let go of an excuse to have fun. And we had crazy fun that day. So yeah if you have the things at home you can make a cake in the microwave in 7 minutes too.

All you need is -

1 cup maida
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 tsp strawberry essence
2 tbsp strawberry crush mixed in half cup water
1/2 cup milk
Whipped fresh cream

Sift maida with baking powder and salt and keep aside. Beat eggs using an egg beater until thick and lemon yellow. Gradually add sugar beating until mixture is smooth and well blended, about 5 minutes.

At low speed on the egg beater blend in the maida until smooth. Warm milk and add it along with the essence and beat until smooth. Pour batter into a greased microwave proof tin and microwave for 7 minutes.

Allow cake to cool. Overturn into a plate of your choice. Dribble the strawberry crush dissolved in water uniformly so cake is soaked. Cover with fresh cream and decorate with whatever is on hand. I grabbed a couple of jujubes and sliced them up and used it.

Okay I’m not really proud of this cake or anything because it hardly takes any time or effort to make it. And I was hugely chagrined when I made the KitKat cake for my son’s birthday and everyone was like we preferred the cake you made for your mom’s birthday. *insert straight faced emoticon*

Chalo. Enough with the cakes. I’ll give you the recipe for the Arab ka meetha which Ping made for the cooking competition and got second prize. And it’s not arbi ka meetha as someone on Twitter wanted to know. (ugh can you imagine what that would taste like?) But you have to wait a little while for that recipe ok? Adios.

Well, what did you think? Tell tell!

