Andey ka Pyosi

I hear the humble egg is immensely valuable when it comes to baking. Oh well, why am I being humble myself? I do know how important eggs are to baking because, well, I bake a lot. And why? Because it’s easy and glamorous. Yes glamorous. Can you imagine putting on an apron and making baingan ka bhurta?

Actually why not? But then it just doesn’t do it for me, the way stirring a bowl with gloopy batter does. I’m sure if I were to psychoanalyse myself I’d come up with some interesting insights about why that’s the case. Okay, that’s not why you’re here, right?

I actually wanted to tell you why eggs are so important for desserts but the truth is, I’m not really sure. It probably has something to do with them filling up with air and puffing up when getting cooked I think. So, yes. Andey ka halwa is a favourite at home but here’s a variation of it which is baked and then you can cut it into these golden squares and then they just settle around your hips and other inconvenient places and refuse to budge.

Andey Ka Pheusi

Okay, if I’ve scared off the calorie counters now, I’ll divulge the recipe right away.

Ingredients

2 cups khova

6 eggs

2 cups sugar

4 slices old bread pulverised into bread crumbs (I just love that word – pulverise)

A little saffron

2 tbsp ghee

1 tbsp honey

Method

Mix all the above, give it a whirr with your hand blender and pour into greased tin and bake at 180 to 200 degrees C for around 40 minutes.

THAT’S IT.

Really!

So what’s the catch? No catch. In fact I’ll even tell you how you can make khova right at home. Just not this week. Maybe some other time and I’ll link that post to this so you know where to go if you want to rustle up these Indian meethas. And quietly grow fat.

Well, what did you think? Tell tell!

